Sleepy musings (OK, whining)

I had one blissful week of sleep. And then it was all over. Again.

Ever since Jason stopped sleeping through the night at 5 months, I have anxiously awaited the time when he would go back to being a good sleeper. I have never done any sleep training. In part because I do not want him to cry it out. And in part because he spontaneously started sleeping 10 hour stretches as a 2 month old. If he could do it then, he should still be able to do so. Right?

I’ve never been able to figure out why he started waking up frequently. (Since I am not a psychic.) It was probably a mix of things. Teething. His first tooth erupted at 5 1/2 months. 4 months sleep regression. Becoming more aware of his environment. Growing pains (since he’s a big’un.) Or maybe quite simply the fact that his little night-wakings became louder as Jason got older, waking me up, thinking something was wrong and nursing him. Thus getting Jason into the habit of needing to nurse to doze off again.

Who knows?! The person who figures out how to get kids to sleep like an adult without crying will be a millionaire. Fact is that two weeks ago Jason started only waking once during the night, sleeping 7-9 hour stretches. This coincided with him finally eating a lot more solids. I was ecstatic. Yet afraid to hope this would be the big turn-around. It wasn’t.

Jason’s two year molars are apparently 18 1/2 month molars. And I hate them. I’m actually starting to resent the frequent night-feedings and early mornings. But I also cannot get past the guilt I would feel over forcefully night-weaning him. So I am stuck in a sleep-deprived, grouchy limbo. Someone please come save me!

This entry was posted in 18 month old, 4 month sleep regression, Breastfeeding, Montessori, Sleep, Toddler, two year molars. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sleepy musings (OK, whining)

  1. Sleeping Mom says:

    Best of luck to you and your kiddo! Sleep deprivation can feel like the worst thing sometimes.

  2. My 7 month old was a better sleeper before too–waking up 3 times to nurse a night, but staying in bed for 11 hours. When 4-5 months came around her habit totally changed, and now I must flip back and forth with her, and nurse her 15-20 times a night. It has been improving a touch though. I totally understand. And whine away. Nights can be rough for us moms.

Leave a Reply

