Time-out? Yes, please!

Yesterday Jason had his 18 months appointment at the pediatrician. After every baby well-check visit the doctor gives you a hand-out with “helpful” information for that age.  I saw there was a big section about time-outs. How to do it, when and why.

Now I practice positive parenting. Which means that I do not punish Jason, but I also do not reward him for doing what I would like him to do. In positive parenting time-outs are viewed as a punishment. A time where you show that when your child does “something wrong”, you retract your love for him for a couple of minutes. Yes, I do agree that it sounds a little harsh. But I agree with the concept of showing your child you love him, even if he did something that got you aggrevated.

Back to time-outs. The hand-out really got me thinking. Why do I never find that I feel Jason needs a time-out? Not even to calm down when he gets too wired? Part is probably because he has a calm, easy-going personality. But he is still a toddler learning to cope with frustrations. He still gets overwhelmed by certain situations. And he has definitely started getting into some power struggles with the other 18 month old boy I babysit.

But you know what he does when he feels things are too much? When he starts whining non-stop or throwing things? He puts himself in time-out. Jason will walk over to me and he will ask to nurse. Sometimes I really don’t feel like it and I will offer water or a snack instead. Yet whenever he really needs that time-out from life, the calm nourishment that comes from nursing, he will insist on it.

Whether we are outside or inside, he will usually spend longer than 5 minutes contently drinking his milk. And then when he is finally done, he gets up with a big smile, renewed energy and a zest for life.

It makes me grateful that we are still breastfeeding at 18 months. Even though in the middle of the night I often silently curse when Jason wakes up again because he wants to nurse. It does make life easier for me. And more importantly, it makes life easier for Jason.

This entry was posted in 18 month old, Breastfeeding, Extended breastfeeding, Time-out, Toddler. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time-out? Yes, please!

  1. Libby says:

    Love this post. ❤

Leave a Reply

